Tags

,

Ok…he might not have “swore” he was married to Martha but I may have got a flip comment about being Martha…or something…

Another fun thing about spring is all of the brunching people want to do!  I don’t know if it is the sleeping in a little later, the hangover elixir component, or the boozing in the late morning that people enjoy the most but I do know that the three together are quite the combination.

We don’t necessarily “brunch” because we are usually up pretty early regardless but on weekend mornings that the husband needs to catch an early spraying session before the wind arrives or if he has to run out and feed cattle before I have a chance to drink my first cup of coffee, we get the chance to have brunch.  And when we have brunch, I like to get a little creative.

One of our favorite breakfast foods, period, is breakfast burritos but you can only do so much to change them up so here is my whole new take on the breakfast burrito.  Behold, the breakfast burrito cup….

breakfastburritocups

It’s glorious, right?  Ok, ok, I’ll quit tooting my horn and tell you how I did it!  I apologize for not taking pictures along the way but I was pretty sure it was going to end up disastrous so no pictures were taken to capture the process.

Necessary ingredients:

  • Tortillas
  • Hashbrowns of some sort (we like shredded yukon golds)
  • Eggs
  • Bacon or sausage, your choice
  • Cheese of your choice (we prefer a sharp cheddar or pepperjack)
  • Muffin tin

The Process:

  1. Get your hashbrowns going in normal fashion.  I like to just fry my shredded potatoes and season them along the way with salt, black pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder.  If you had some left over roasted potatoes, those would be great, too.
  2. As your hashbrowns cook, do whatever you need to do to your protein.  I used about 6 slices of bacon (for 6 breakfast burrito cups) that I cook on a sheet pan in the oven.
  3. In the mean time, line your muffin tins with your tortillas.  You have to do a little folding and a little magic but if you have ever made a cone with a piece of paper, it is the same idea.  Make a cone then fold the bottom to get the tortilla to magically become a cup.
  4. Make sure your cheese is shredded and set your oven to 350.
  5. Now you should have everything cooked and you just need to assemble.  In your cup, add a layer of potatoes, meat, and cheese leaving some space at the top.
  6. Once everything is assembled, carefully crack an egg into each cup.  Top with chives if you so desire.
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes until eggs have reached desired doneness (is that a word?  um, no)  We like our’s over easy so I cooked them until the whites were cooked.
  8. Carefully remove warm cups from muffin tins and serve!

Now sit back and let your company, or just your husband, marvel at what a culinary genius you are!  Kidding….only kidding but how simple and how fancy, right?  I am certain these would be perfect paired with a mimosa and can be cleverly changed up in so many ways!

What is your favorite brunch dish?

